The Commissioner of Police Raymond Kelly sponsored NYPD under 19-cricket league gets cracking after a break for the holy month of Ramadan.

Trevis Ross struck an elegant 154 against Eagles.

The MMZ Superstars took on the Eagles cricket team at Flushing # 2 ground on Wednesday August 14th.

The Eagles won the toss and inserted the MMZ Superstars to take first strike, a decision they will want to forget very quickly. It was the skipper himself Trevis Ross and the talented Rafeek Nazeer to opened the batting. It was all Trevis Ross from ball one.

Ross played some superb shots to all parts of Flushing Park; he brings up his half century with a glorious cover drive for four in quick time, his partner Nazeer was just happy to stand at the non-striker end watching his skipper.

The century partnership came up in six overs with Ross on 85 and Nazeer on five. In the 7th over Ross brings up his century with a 6 over extra cover. Ross continued to plunder the bowlers to all parts of the field. Nazeer got into the act and brings up his half century with a pull shot for four. The pair added 205 runs for the first wicket before Nazeer was out caught at mid wicket for a well played 61. Another prolific batsman walked out the talented Amarnath Persaud to join his skipper. Ross and Persaud did not waste any time as they continued to plunder the Eagles bowlers. Ross looking set  for a double hundred brings up his 150 with a fine straight drive for four, he was eventually  out caught for a magnificent  154 which includes 12 massive sixes and 14 glorious fours.

Persaud continued where his skipper left off and smashed a 20 runs over, Aj Bridgepaul Joined Persaud and the two see the Superstars got to the 300 mark in the 19th over.  Persaud brought up his swashbuckling 50 in 25 deliveries. The coach Ajaz Asgarally called in Bridgepaul to give the young 14-year-old Sanjay Dhaniram a chance in the big arena, Sanjay is the son of former Guyana national player Sudesh Dhaniram. Persaud and Dhaniram saw MMZ Superstars to 311 for 3 off their 20 overs with Persaud not out on 60 and Dhaniram 5 not out.

The Eagles started their innings briskly hitting the young Michael Ketwaroo for 2 sixes and a four in the first over. It was Clifford Hamilton who   put a check on things after he was entrusted with the new ball; he removed the openers both cleaned bowled. The Skipper switching around his bowlers giving everyone a chance, Aj Bridgepaul bowled well picking up 2 wickets, the intelligent Chetram “Mario” Persaud bowled a tidy spell picking up 3 for 12 in 4 overs , the young  Michael Ketwaroo ,the new boy Nicholas Nandan and Denish  Balgobin cleaned up things for the Superstars. The Eagles were eventually bowled out for 123.

Chetram “Mario” Persaud had 3 for 12 against Eagles.

On Thursday August 15th, the Superstars took on the Incredibles at Flushing # one Ground.

The Incredibles won the toss and decided to bat first after witnessing Trevis Ross magnificent 154 against their friends. The Incredibles lost wickets at regular intervals and was bowled out for 100 runs in 16 overs , Ahmad 38 and Zeeshan 14 were the only two batsmen to reach double figures.

Bowling for the Superstars, Aj Bridgepaul 2 for 6, Amarnath Persaud 1 for 6, Imdad Khan 1 for 6, Chetram Persaud 1 for 15, Rafeek Nazeer 1 for 17, Denish 0 for 8, Trevis Ross 2 for 8 and Michael Katwaroo 0 for 10.

MMZ Superstars knocked off the runs losing the wickets of Rafeek Nazeer 0, Amarnath Persaud 15, Imdad Khan 16, after making a come back to cricket after a long break and Clifford Hamilton 28 retired. It was Trevis Ross 30 not out and new boy the stylish Nawaz Khan 1 not out saw the MMZ Superstars to victory in the 11th overs.

Summary:  The Incredibles 100 all out in 16 overs. MMZ Superstars 101 for 3 in 11 overs.

The MMZ Superstars having top their group with 5 wins and 1 lost now awaiting the winners of next Tuesday quarter finals qualifying games.

Next Wednesday August 21st will be the Superstars next game.

The MMZ Superstars is coached by Ajaz Asgarally and USA player Azurdeen Mohammed.

The full squad is: Trevis Ross (capt), Amarnath Persaud (v/capt), Rafeek Nazeer, Aj Bridgepaul, Imdad Khan, Anwer Hussain, Chetram Persaud, Michael Ketwaroo, M. Hussain, Clifford Hamilton, Inzamam Khan, Nawaz Khan, Sanjay Dhaniram, Nicholas Nandan, Robin Ramsammy, Denish Balgobin, Nyad Asgarally and Nadeem Asgarally, Ajaz Asgarally (coach), Azurdeen Mohammed (coach) and Fiaz Asgarally (manager).