Germantown Kids Cricket Club raising the trophy.

Maryland Youth Cricket Championship
Germantown Kids Cricket Club swept the honors yesterday at the Germantown Soccerplex as its A squad won the inaugural Maryland Youth Cricket Championship, while its B squad also won its final. Umpire Ram Ragoo donated trophies and certificates to be awarded to each match’s Most Valuable Players, adding to the excitement.

In the opening match of the day, the Bowie Boys and Girls Club A squad defeated Lutherville-Timonium Recreation Council by five wickets to secure 3rd place.

The scene yesterday at Germantown Soccerplex.

Leading the way for Bowie again was Tyler Chotoo with 28 runs, including four boundaries and a six, while Julia Chotoo chipped in a very useful 11. Rey Sasaki top scored for LTRC with 23, including 2 fours, while teammate Will Prestwich added 11 and a boundary. Tyler Chotoo and Rey Sasaki were named MVPs for the match.

On the bowling side, Travis Hansen took two wickets for Bowie and Adi Gopakumar took two for Lutherville-Timonium. Gopakumar also took two catches in the loss.

In the B Level finals, Germantown won comfortably by seven wickets.

GKCC was led by Rohit Gore, who scored 11, Sannuthi Samuel with 9 and Harbin Singh with 7. For Bowie, Joseph Zacharski top-scored with 5 while Alyssa Logan had 3.

Jay Desai took 3 wickets for GKCC, while teammate Shiv Luthra had two. For Bowie, Joseph Zacharski had two wickets.

Germantown’s Rohit Gore was named an MVP, as was Bowie’s Joseph Zacharski.

In the first-ever Maryland Youth Cricket Championship, Germantown took on undefeated Cockeysville Recreation Council. Tossing the coin for the championship match was Dr. Rajan Natarajan, Deputy Secretary of State of Maryland. Cockeysville won the toss and elected to send GKCC in to bat.

The match was dominated by great bowling from the start, with Germantown being restricted to 18-7 in its first innings, while CRC was then held to 20-5. In the second innings, Germantown was only able to add seven more runs before being bowled out for 25, setting up what appeared to be a certain Cockeysville victory.

GKCC bowling, however, rose to the challenge, and CRC wickets began to tumble. In the end, all five wickets were taken at the expense of only three runs, and local favorite Germantown rushed onto the pitch to claim the title and the Naden/Lean Cup.

Arjun Rakheja top-scored for Germantown with 7 (12), while teammate Varun Gangadharan collected 6 (22). For Cockeysville, Alex Dua had 7 (18).

With the ball, GKCC’s Sanjith Narayanan took 4 wickets, Anav Babbar took 3 and Bradford Desai took 2 catches. For CRC, Harshil Patel took 3 wickets, while wicketkeeper Alex Dua had a career day in the field, grabbing five catches and being involved in two run outs.

Sanjith Narayanan was named MVP for Germantown, while Cockeysville’s Alex Dua claimed MVP honors for the runners up.