Eastern American Cricket Association’s Power40 competition | Scorecard
Meten-Meer-Zorg Cricket Club (MMZ) defeated Arsenal CC by 8 wickets in over cast condition at Flushing Meadows Park. Arsenals won the toss, decided to bat first, and were bundled out for 74 runs with some fine bowling spells from Rocky Kowchai 8-2-18-3, Amarnath Persaud 4-1-10-3, Saumil Gandhi 4-1-9-2 and Richie Sieuchand 2.5-0-12-2. The MMZ boys knocked off the runs in quick time with the attacking Richie Sieuchand slams a quick fire 52 not out with 8 fours and 2 sixes, USA under- 19 player Trevis Ross was left not out on 10.

Richie Sieuchand picked up 2 for 12 and produce a fine knock of 52. Photo by Shiek Mohamed

Meten-Meer-Zorg CC now on 35 points will take on a strong Big Apple Cricket Team on Sunday at the picturesque Bay Park. The game will no doubt be a very interesting matchup with both teams having some talented stroke maker in their lineup.

Big Apple CC no doubt the favorites having  boost up their line up with Guyana  national player Richard Ramdeen, they will be looking for huge scores from the skipper Zaheer Saffie and last week centurion the elegant Clain Williams. Their bowling department will be led by pace of Telston Johnson, leg spinners Hemindra Ramdihal and Andre Kirton.

MMZ will be without the young attractive Trevis Ross who is in Canada doing duties with the USA under 19 squad, they will be depending on a good opening stand between the skipper Azurdeen Mohammed and the attacking Richie Sieuchand, also MMZ team will be hoping for big scores from the dependable Deonauth Baksh, the young Amarnath Persaud, new player Chad Monroe and Saud Hussain. The bowling department will be spearheaded by Imran Awan, Rocky Kowchai, Rahanul Islam all-rounder  Zaaid Majeed, the mystery man Saumil Gandhi and the experience Gary Headly who just joined the squad. Headly is a former police first division player from Guyana and resides in the village of Meten-Meer-Zorg will be guest of the MMZ boys for a few weeks. The MMZ boys wish him pleasant stay.

MMZ full squad is Azurdeen Mohammed (capt), Ajaz asgarally (vcapt), Richie Sieuchand, Deonauth Baksh, Amarnath Persaud, Chad Monroe, Saud Hussain, Zaaid Majeed, Rocky Kowchai, Gary Headly, Rawle Hoyte, Saumil Gandhi, Imran  Awan, Neel Patel, Keith Mungalsingh, Fiaz Asgarally and Hakim Khan.

MMZ CC would like to thank Sunil and Vanessa of Airwave Air Conditioning Inc., (718-933-1011) for their continuing support and sponsorship.