Cricket All-Star Games
On June 22, the top high school cricket players from the New York City Public Schools Athletic League (PSAL) will compete for the chance to be named the “Best in the City” at the third annual NYC Mayor’s Cup Cricket All-Star Games. The semifinal matches begin at 11am and the championship match will take place at 3pm at the Van Cortlandt Park Parade Ground Cricket Fields #3 and #6, located across from 6035 Broadway, in the Bronx. Admission is free.

Randal Wilson will represent Queens Team #1. Photos by Shiek Mohamed

Two of the City’s most accomplished cricketers will be competing in this year’s event: Keifer Phill (High School for Construction) and Randall Wilson (John Adams High School), who were both recently selected to compete on the USA National Under-19 Team. The United States of America Cricket Association (USACA) donated jerseys to the participating athletes and coaches in this year’s event.

The NYC Mayor’s Cup series, which features 11 sporting events that crown the
“Best in the City,” is organized by NYC & Company, the City’s marketing, tourism and partnership organization. The series showcases student-athletes of all ages from across all five boroughs as they compete year-round to prove they are New York City’s best at baseball, lacrosse, outdoor track & field, basketball, softball, soccer, cricket, chess, table tennis, cross country and wrestling. For more information about the NYC Mayor’s Cup series, visit<>.

Bronx/Manhattan Team
Danyaal Ain
Joydeep Baidya
Ali Bangash
Hamza Bangash
Shyam Bhatt
Kamran Haque
Mahbub Hasan
Zahid Hasan (Capt.)
Naiem Hussen
Syed Islam (Vice Capt.)
Tasawar Khalil
Asmar Khan
Pavil Sabu
Abhishek Samdaria
Vinit Shah
Coaches: Nigel Thompson (Lehman)
Mohammed Khan (Stuyvesant)

Aown Iqbal will represent Queens Team #2.

Brooklyn Team
Zeeshan Arif
Alex Chattergoon
Akash Chowdhury
Antu Das
Kevin Evariste
Syed Forhaduddin
Akramul Haque
Mohammed Hossain
Hamza Rana (Vice Capt.)
Fahad Riaz (Capt.)
Burhan Saeed
Saqib Shahid
Mohib Tariq
Haasher Warraich
Bilal Zulfiqar
Coaches: Lal Saitram (Lincoln)
Paul Allen (Brooklyn International)

Queens Team #1
MD Fuhad
Jason Hall
Hamad Hussain
Munthasir Islam (Vice Capt.)
Vijendra Mohabir
Rafeek Nazeer
Randy Perumal
Keifer Phill
Syed Shahi Pir
Sharif Rahman
Jason Rooney
Abhishek Satyam
Prajwal Sharma
Randall Wilson (Capt.)
Zafar Yusuf
Coaches: Hunter Brett (Hillcrest)
Alex Navarrete (John Adams)

Queens Team #2
Shalman Ahmed
Muhammad Ashfaq
Farial Haque
Mohammed Hossin
Mohtasim Hussain
Aown Iqbal (Vice Capt.)
Nahid Islam
Rolex Kapali
Redwanur Khan
MD Rahman
Sajib Salam (Capt.)
Gurtej Singh
Tajinder Singh
Taranjit Singh
Tipo Sultan
Coaches: Joe Mathew (William C. Bryant)
Dharmvir Gehlaut (Long Island City)