On Saturday, December 15, Maryland junior cricket coaches huddled with Jamie Harrison and Justin Bruchey of the Maryland Youth Cricket Association in Glen Burnie. The meeting was set to work out the details of the new Maryland Junior Cricket League, set to launch in June 2013. The attendees also decided to expand the administration of MYCA, with the coaches stepping up to assume offices in the organization.

Maryland Youth Cricket Coaches (L-R: Anu Babbar, Warren Prestwich, Ajith Silva, Sham Chotoo. Not pictured: Greg Edwards.)

The junior cricket league will play throughout June and July, with league semi-finals and finals to be played at the conclusion of the league schedule. Embracing the developmental nature of the players, most of whom are new to cricket, matches will utilize heavy tennis balls, which will be safer for the children. The league will also have two divisions, separated by skill level, with programs sending one team to each.

Programs from across Maryland are slated to participate in the league: Germantown Kids Cricket Club, Lutherville-Timonium Recreation Council, Bowie Boys & Girls Club, South Carroll Junior Cricket and the Washington Cricket Center.

After a discussion of the vision, plans and needs of the MYCA, these officers are announced:
President – Jamie Harrison
1st Vice President – Anu Babbar, Germantown Kids Cricket Club
2nd Vice President – Greg Edwards, South Carroll Junior Cricket
Treasurer – Sham Chotoo, Bowie Boys & Girls Club
Secretary – Warren Prestwich, Lutherville-Timonium Recreation Council
Member at Large – Ajith Silva, Washington Cricket Center
Member at Large – Justin Bruchey

The new MYCA Board of Directors will be meeting again in February as it continues to prepare for the coming cricket season.