EACA T/20 Blitz
MMZ won the toss and decided to bat in glorious sunshine, with skipper Azurdeen Mohammed back from Malaysia with the USA senior team opened the batting with Ken Nandkumar, the pair put on 22 for the first wicket before Nandkumar got one that kept low and was out LBW, as usual Deonauth Baksh walk in at number 3 to join his skipper. Mohammed was batting well with the score on 65 he hit Singh for a massive six over long on, the next ball he tried to go again over cover point and was well caught by Thakur Singh for a quick 25.

Amarnauth Persaud scored a quick 45 that came off 16 deliveries. Photo by Shiek Mohamed

The young stylish Trevis Ross joined Baksh who was hitting the ball cleanly, Ross in his own aggressive manner hit 2 fours and a huge six went for another big shot and was out stumped. At that stage MMZ was in some trouble at 85 for 3 off 14 overs. MMZ informed batsman the talented Amarnath Persaud joined Baksh, with the score on 101 in 15 overs.  Baksh went for a huge drive outside the off stump and was stumped for a well composed 43. Rawle Hoyte was promoted up the order to give MMZ a decent score was run out without scoring. Persaud was joined by Kowchai at the crease. It was Amarnath Persaud who let loose on the LSC bowlers scoring a superb 45 in just 16 deliveries which included 6 glorious fours and 1 well timed six to see the MMZ reaching a good score of 161, Persaud was left not out on 45 and Kowchai on 4. Imtiaz Hassan was the pick of the bowlers taking 2 for 28 off 4 overs.

Liberty Sports club started off disastrously losing both openers for duck, first to go was Dilly Khellawan caught by Amarnath Persaud off Islam and A. Persaud caught off Kowchai. Danesh Deonarain and Imtiaz Hassan batted well before Deonarain trying to hit Islam for a second six was out caught by Zaaid Majeed off Islam for 15. Hassan was bowled by Trevis Ross for 22. Terrence Madramootoo batted well for 25 before he was stumped off Andy Mohammed. Thakur was bowled for 18 off Majeed. Z. Singh was caught and bowled off Mohammed for 8. Liberty Sports Club eventually made 104 off their 20 overs.
Bowling for MMZ, Islam 2 for 19, Kowchai 2 for 17 and Mohammed 2 for 18.

Final scores in the match MMZ 161 for 4 off 20 overs and Liberty Sports Club 104 for 8 off 20 overs.

MMZ now moves on to the semi final where they will meet arch rival Everest ACS on Sunday at the famous Baisley Cage at 2:30 pm. The other semi is between Richmond Hill CC and Atlantis CC start at 11 am at the same Venue. The Cage will be the place to be to witness two exciting cricket match with all four teams possessing some talented youngsters in their line up. EACA will provide live commentary by Lenny Achibar and Carl Bennett for the two semis. Good luck to all teams.

MMZ squad is Azurdeen Mohammed, Ken Nandkumar, Deonauth Baksh, Trevis Ross, Amarnath Persaud, Glenn Meyer, Zaaid Majeed, Himendra Ramdiahal, Rocky Kowchai, Saud Hussain, Rayhanul Islam, Ajaz Asgarally, Rawle Hoyte, Fiaz Asgarally, Kieth Mungalsingh, Fazurdeen Mohammed and Hakim Khan.