Richmond Hill cricket club recorded their 3rd consecutive win with a hard fought victory over Camelot Cricket Club. Richmond Hill winning the toss and electing to take first strike but were soon in trouble as 4 wickets fell for 69 runs.

Royo Sankar led Richmond Hill batting with a fine 59 against Camelot. Photo by Shiek Mohamed

Camelot’s Jameel Khan produced a fine bowling spell, he had 3 for 21 from his 8 overs with 2 maidens, and his victims were Debo Sankar 14, D. Seepersaud 7 and Jerry Heyligher 1.

However inform batsman Royo Sankar would stabilize the innings with 59 {3×4} along with Deryck McDonald 36 {2×4} as the pair put together a valuable fifth wicket partnership of 77 runs. Ronald Evelyn chipped in with 20 as the inning closed at 179 for 8 wickets of the allotted 37 overs due to rain interruption.

Camelot needing five runs per over for victory was always within the asking rate, but wickets fell  at regular intervals, Lawrence Shoy struck a quick 19 (3×4) before Deryck McDonald obliterate his stumps, V. R. Chandra was then bowled by Ramphal Bactowar.

However H. Khan 26 (3×4), (1×6) and N. Persaud 24 (1×6) put together a third wicket stand of 57.  Both were dismissed with the score on 81. Mahendra Seeram and Zaheer Sadloo kept the batsmen quiet as the runs dried up and wicket kept falling, soon Camelot was all out for 132 in the 30th over, A. C. Lochan remain unbeaten with 25 (3×4), (1×6).

Summary: Richmond Hill CC 179 for 8 in 37 overs: Royo Sankar 59, Deryck McDonald 36 and Ronald Evelyn 20.

Bowling for Camelot:  J. Khan 8-2-21-3, K. Khan 7-0-64-1, M. Shafi 8-0-28-0, N. Persaud 8-0-36-1 and M. Khan 6-0-24-2.

Camelot cc 132 all out in 30 overs: L. Shoy 19, H. Khan 26, N. Persaud 24, and A. Lochan 25*.

Bowling for Richmond Hill: D. McDonald 7-1-39-2, R. Bactowar 7-1-25-3, M. Seeram7.4-0-25-1, and Z. Sadloo 8-0-30-2.