The Eastern American Cricket Association tournaments for the 2011 cricket season have been completed. Everest/ACS is the 40-overs Champions, Meter-Meer-Zorg (MMZ) the Big-4  Champions, and Big Apple Cricket Club (BACC) is the T20 Champions.

The exciting Barrington Bartley will be on display. Photos by Shiek Mohamed.

The Cage has been a popular meeting place for cricketers and cricket fans alike during these past summer months. Fans have been entertained by some very exciting cricket. They had the opportunity of seeing some of the most promising youngster’s display their cricketing skills, as several of the future stars of the USA were on display.

The last game of the regular season, the T20 Final, was played last Sunday, October 16th before capacity crowds, but cricket fans, don’t be discouraged. Cricket at The Cage is not yet over for 2011. This coming Sunday, October 23rd, a New York Select Xl meets the New York Steelers in a T20 encounter. Game time is 12:00 Noon.

The Steelers would be participating in the MAQ T20 tournament sponsored by Cricket Council, USA from December 1- 4, 2011 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.  Many of the youngsters from the 2011 tournament winners would be taking part in this game.

According to Rudy Persaud, President of the EACA, apart from providing cricket entertainment for the fans, the day’s proceedings will also include fundraising activities, a raffle being one of them. Donations are also welcomed. Refreshments would be available during the match. The fundraising drive will help the youngsters of the New York Steelers to defray some of their expenses during the Florida tournament. The game will also give the Steelers some practice under game-like conditions, as well as to help bolster their confidence.

The hard-hitting Shabazz Ahmed will grace "The Cage".

New York Steelers squad:
Telston Johnson
Zaheer Saffie
Karan Ganesh
Andy Mohammed
Tamesh Balwant
Shiv Raghubar
Charlton Senior
Kumar Nandalall
Clain Williams
Vijay Seonarine
Ron Andrews
Prashanth Nair
Sunesh Wazid
Mark Gomes
Coach: Alfred Madray

New York Select Xl squad:
Barrington Bartley
Shawn George
Rasheem James
Haraldo Marshal
Aun Merchant
Deonauth Baksh
Anwer Khan
Debo Sankar
Shabaz Ahmed
Dehan Siddique
Faizal Taj
Dwayne Smith
Safraz Ali
Amarnath Persaud
Zamin Amin