The MMZ Superstars will take on Stallions in the finals for the second year in a row in the NYPD Cricket League’s Under-19 Cricket finals on Tuesday, July 26th at Marine Park in Brooklyn. Game time is 2pm.

Meten-Meer-Zorg Superstars will face Stallions in the 2011 NYPD Cricket final.

Superstars won their semi-final match last Thursday, defeating Lycans in a very exciting game at Kissena Park. Superstars skipper Imdad Khan (PSAL 2011 Cricketer of the Year) won the toss and decided to bat without hesitation on a very hot afternoon.

Out walked the promising and exciting Travis Ross and the talented Awaz Haseldar to open the batting for the Superstars. In the first over Travis Ross flicked Faisal for a four and then a six over backward square, Travis was out trying to go deep only to hold out at deep mid-wicket.

Syed Ali joined Awaz and the two of them batted with sheer aggression, hitting the ball to all parts of the ground. Awaz brought up his fifty with a glorious cover drive for four, while Syed batting well at the other end was on 41, when Awaz square cut to point and didn’t respond from a call from Syed, it ended up with Syed being run out for a well-played 41. The score was 123 for 2 off 12 overs at that time, the two of them had put on a 105 partnership, before skipper Imdad Khan joined Awaz and he immediately stroked a four through cover and a huge six over extra cover. Superstars at that time was looking to post a huge total of over two hundred. Imdad was eventually out trying to go deep and was caught. Inzaman Khan came in and was bowled by a delivery that kept low for a duck.

Vice captain Rocky Kowchai batting at number six didn’t last too long, he was out caught and bowled by Faisal. Thakur Singh then joined Awaz, the veteran; however, Awaz was the next to go caught for a well-played 63. Thakur played some fine shots to see MMZ Superstars to 176 off the allotted 20 overs.

One hundred and seventy seven runs seemed like a decent total for the Superstar, however the guys from the Lycans camp had other ideas. They started off losing two early wickets when Izamam Khan had Tamim caught for 1 and the experienced Anwar Khan had Junaid caught for 9. Rizza and Sujam played brilliantly to bring up Lycans’ 100 runs in 13 overs. Needing 77 in 7 overs it looked like a tough task for the youngsters.

Suja, who was batting well on 55, was caught off the bowling of Rocky Kowchai. Naimul came to the wicket and was immediately bowled by Kowchai for 1 and then Sakeef was run out for three. At that point it seemed as if it was all over for the Lycans. With four overs to go out came Boom Boom Hassan who played some fine shots to bring Lycans closer to their target. At 17 overs the score was 135 for 5 with 45 needed in 3 overs, however, it was still a long way to go.

Vice captain Rocky Kowchai bowled brilliantly conceding only 4 runs in the 18th over ending with figures of 4 overs 15 runs 2 wickets. With two overs remaining the order was to give the pace bowler Inzaman Khan the ball to bowl the 19th over. It was Boom Boom Hassan taking strike and Lycans needing 38 off 2 overs, Hassan hit the first two deliveries for maximum and then a four and then another six to end a long over from which this young man may learn.

Lycans needed 14 from the last over, the young promising fast bowler Anwer Khan who just got a fiver for his team Long Island United against EACA defending champions Everest ACS was given the big task. Khan bowling with great pace and control saw Hassan finding it very difficult to get boundaries, as Lycans ended up three runs short of their target.

It was a very interesting and exciting game of cricket with all the youngsters playing in the great sprit of the game. Superstars coach Ajax Asgarally is very confident that his boys can make it two in a row.

The Superstars will be without last year’s captain Andy Mohammed, Zaaid Majeed and the hard-hitting all-rounder Kavishwar Bridgepaul, in this year’s finals. However, with Travis Ross and Awaz Haseldar in great form, this team has a very good chance.

The full squad is: Imdad Khan (Capt.), Rocky Kowchai (Vice Capt.), Travis Ross, Awaz Hasledar, Syed Ali, Thakur Singh, Inzamam Khan, Naresh Gainaidoo, Clifford Hamilton, Anwer Khan, Humza Ahmed, Wazim Shaw, Inzamam Khan, Danraj Hansraj, Nyad Asgarally, Suraj Janwani, Nadeem Asgarally, Zyed Omar, Syed Omar, and Fiaz Asgarally (Manager).

Mr. Asgarally urges everyone to come out and support the youngsters and get a chance to meet New York Police Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly, who will be on hand to bowl the first delivery in the finals on Tuesday.

If anyone needs information how to play for the MMZ Superstars kindly contact Ajaz Asgarally at 646-261-1201, Azurdeen Mohammed @ 347-543-2226, Zaaid Majeed @ 347-299-8474 or Kavishwar Bridgepaul @ 347-571-1607.