By Darshan Chickery
President XI went from the last seed when the West Indian Softball Association 25 Over Premier competition started to winning the ‘whole thing’ last Sunday at Dr. Charles Drew Park – beating Avengers by 62 runs.

After a relatively late start (1:53 pm), President XI won the toss and decided to take first strike against Kenny Bulkan and his Avengers ‘compadres’. President XI got off to somewhat of a ‘shaky’ start – the diminutive and ageless Basil Balkaran was out without scoring in the first over. Semi final hero Mark Bobb and Ryan Norton were out early to set the presidential boys back at 32 for three in the 6th over.

Roy Comacho in at four added 27 for the 6th wicket with Suresh Balkaran who made brisk 21. Comacho would play and outstanding inning before he was out for 55. His responsible knock contained 7 fours and a six.

President XI’s inning came to a close at 160 for 7 in their allotted 25 overs. Mike Balkaran was unbeaten on 34 and Roy Mahadeo 12. Avengers’ V. Deokie, R. Tularam and K. Bulkan all took two wickets apiece.

Avengers took the crease needing just over six runs an over. A good start and they would have had a chance but a ‘good start’ they did not get. The lost two wickets in the first over and never recovered. They were bowled out for ninety eight. Other than extras (33), the Thirkapersauds were the only batsmen to get into double figures. D. Thirkapersaud top scored with 23 while V. Thirkapersaud made 11. Suresh Balkaran took the bowling honors with 4 for 19. He was nicely supported by Mark Bobb with 3 for 17 and Roy Mahadeo with 2 for 16.

Ocean XI ‘Anchor’ Ankerville – Div I Champs
Ocean XI beat Ankerville by 5 wickets to take the WISA Division I 25 Over Championship last Sunday at Dr. Charles Drew Park.

The game, a low scoring but closer than the scores indicated was a keenly contested affair. Ankerville came into the playoffs with the most prolific batting – averaging more than 200 runs when they batted first and by far the team with best record by way of margin of victory in the entire league for the 25 overs competition. Ocean XI – had with them the pedigree of champions being former Premier champions.

Ankerville batted first and were off to a very slow start before opener Azad Hussain was out without scoring in the fourth over.  Narine Algu and A. Charitar added 29 for the 2nd wicket before Charitar was out for 23. Algu and N. Kasinath took the score to 60 for 2 at the break (13th over).

With the foundation laid, Ankerville was poised to put on another of their powerful batting displays. L. Mohan and T. Moonsammy had other plans and a very competitive game evolved. Ankerville lost wickets and scored at a slightly lower rate than they did in the first half. Hence, were restricted to 110 for 9 off their 25 overs. Mohan and Moonsammy took 6 of the last seven wickets to fall. Mohan ended up with 4 from 10 from five overs. He was supported by the aforementioned Moonsammy with 3 for 19 from his five overs. Algu top scored with 31.

Ocean XI got a flying start from S. Moonsammy and S. Bhulai before Moonsammy was out for a Viv Richard like knock. He struck two 6s and two 4s in his knock of 21. Bhulai watched the wickets of B. Tulsi (0), N. Singh (2), Y. Mohammed (9) and L. Mohan (0) tumbled to restrict Ocean XI to 54 for 5 in the 12th over. The break could not have come at a better time for Ocean XI.

After the break Bhulai and C. Rajbally saw Ocean XI home at 112 for 5. Rajbally top scored with 36 while Bhulai batted superbly for an unbeaten 35. R. Khublall grabbed 3 for 23 while J. Madramootoo took 2 for 17.

Tropical Fantasy ‘topple’ Hillside – Div II Champs
Tropical Fantasy ‘topple’ Hillside to take the Division II championship by 48 runs.
Tropical Fantasy 194 for 9.
D. Dataram 67, R. Sawh 38 not out & M. Sukhra 29
S. Doobay 3 for 29 & S. Seemangal 2 for 26
Hillside 146 all out. S. Rahim top scored with 19. Five other batsmen got into double figures without  getting past 17.
R. Barron 2 for 20 and M. Sukhra 2 for 12.

Other Scores:
Premier Elite Semi Finals.
Dynasty beat Rising Stars by 8 runs.
Dynasty 137 all out. Rising Stars 129 all out

Corriverton 158 all out Richmond Hill 91 all out.