Gunners NYSCL President Cup Division IIA Champions
By Kenny Bulkan
Gunners as an 8th seed have created history in New York Softball Cricket League field since they  were crowned champions of the NYSCL President Cup by defeating Crown XI in a well-contested final in front of an estimated 2000 spectators.  On their journey leading up to the finals, they shot down the Rising Rockets and rode over Knight Riders.

Members Gunners club collect their championship title.

Last Sunday’s skies were clear; the grass was green and a good day for some softball cricket. Gunners Skipper Gopie Doodnauth won the toss and elected to take on the Crown XI attack. Magnificent batting from Ravi Persaud (OJ) and Kennedy Ramsahoye guided Gunners to a challenging 219 for 7 off their allotted 25 overs. Ravi Persaud and Kennedy came together after the loss of quick wickets and put together a record 4th wicket partnership of 120 runs.

They toiled Crown XI bowlers all parts of the ground as if it was belly wok season.  Ravi Persaud slammed eleven fours in his 66, while Kennedy Ramsahoye cracked five fours and a sole six in his 54. In addition, the talented Arvin Budram made a quick fire 21 as Gunners innings retired.  D. Beharry was the Crown XI most successful bowler with 4 for 37

In Reply, Crown XI was of pace to overcome that huge total with some good batting from their top order. They were 92 for 3 at their 13th over mark as both team came in for drinks. Gunner’s management committee lead by Tallat Khan and coaching staff had words with Gunners Captain and his troops.

I do not know their instructions; however, after intermission, Gunners reload and tighten the screws as Crown XI struggles to maintain the equivalent run rate and could merely managed 168. S. Persaud 34, H. Azeez 23 and B. Singh 25 were their main contributors.  Gopie Doodnauth 3 for 32 and Kennedy Ramsohoye 2 for 39.  Kennedy all-round performance won him the man of the match prize.

Indomitable Invaders Send Saturn Back Into Orbit
By Paul Drickpaul
Invaders defeated Saturn in a cliffhanger to win the NYSCL Division IIB President Cup competition played on Sunday, August 24th at Baisley Park. Invaders won the toss and put Saturn into bat and in the second over A. Veradin was bowled by a Winston Valladares special for duck. Vishnu Ramnauth and Budram put on 62 for the second wicket before Budram was caught and bowled by Mahaendra Chan for 18 runs in the 13th over.

Paul Valladares collect Division IIB Championship trophy.

After the break, Tribowan came to the wicket and placed some glorious cricket shots. Ramnauth was then dismissed for 20 and Poonsammy joined Tribowan and they both played shots around the wicket. Paul Drickpaul came into the attack and removed both Poonsammy and Tribowan for 29 and 38 respectively.

Saturn were eventually bowled out for 176. Winston Valladares was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 26 while Paul Valladares and Paul Drickpaul had 2 wickets each. Invaders in reply were given a great start by Mahendra Chan 47 and Paul Valladares. They put on 97 before Mahendra Chan was bowled by Khan.

After the water break, Saturn fought back gallantly and picked up 4 quick wickets. Invaders needed 21 runs from the final 3 overs but Cecil Gunraj bowled a maiden over in which he had 2 wickets. With 21 runs required of the final 2 overs, Saturn brought back with their best bowler, Darren Singh to bowl the Penultimate but his first ball was driven superbly over square cover for 6 by R. Budram 11 runs were needed in the final over.

It was then left to final over, the first ball was hit for 4 by R. Budram, with 1 delivery left Invaders needing 2 runs to win. Anand Drickpaul then drove the ball to long-on and they scampered 2 runs to win the championship which sent their supporters into a frenzy. Anand Drickpaul finished with 39 not out and Winston Valladares was named Man of the Match.

Saturn did not show any sportsmanship. They stormed off the field arguing amongst themselves and did not congratulate any of the Invaders’ players. This victory was very sweet given the fact that Invaders was given no chance to even make the finals. Congrats Invaders!