By James Persaud
He was not present when it was announced, but I am quite sure that he would have agreed that he deserved it the most. Kaleem Bux won the same award in 2003, back then it was called the Season’s Most Valuable Player. As the game made strides and gained recognition it was time to make changes and in 2004 the name was changed to Cricketer of the Year.

Amit Moonsammy collects the Cricketer of the Year award on behalf of Khaleem Bux from League President Eric Ferrier.

Last Saturday at New York Softball Cricket League’s Annual Awards Presentation Dinner and Dance, Assassins all rounder, Kaleem Bux, was rewarded with the prestigious 2010 Cricket of the Year.  He joined an elite group of softball cricketers to win the award for the second time. The other two time winners are United Stars all rounder Bobby Pahalad (2007, 2008) and Hustlers Captain Kris Sobhai (2006, 2009).

In the last three seasons, the voting to determine the cricketer of the year has become very close; the stats are used from all the players throughout the season from all four divisions.

Kaleem Bux’s stats were like a sleeping giant, it seems as if no one was taking notice of his batting and bowling, he was consistent throughout the season. His team Assassins went to the playoffs in all three of the competitions loss in one semi finals and played two finals, winning one.
He played for the New York Dream Team in the NYSCL Inter State Independence Cup and scored the second most runs and the second highest individual score in the tournament and was among the top five with wickets.

He was the most valuable player in the2010 Independence Cup and the man of the match of the finals which his NY Dream team won.