By John L. Aaron
Just when you thought a slice of Caribbean cricket could not get any nicer, here comes the Guyana Inter-County T20 Cricket Tournament on September 28 at Baisley Pond Park, more commonly known as The Cage.

The toss ceremony from of the games. Photo by Shiek Mohamed.

Following the highly acclaimed Guyana Inter-County Games with a flavorful twist two weekends ago, here comes the Guyana Inter-County T20 Cricket Tournament sponsored by Insaf “Birdman” Ali of 2A’s Mechanical, Inc., with a cash 1st Prize of $1,500, along with a championship trophy, and a cash 2nd Prize of $1,000.

One may ask what’s the difference between this upcoming tournament and the one held on September 7 at Baisley Pond Park, less than one mile away from the upcoming one? It gives the cricket fan another opportunity of watching some of the brightest and most skilled cricketers represent their homeland counties, here in the New York metropolitan area, for the second time this season.

The previous tournament moved away from the traditional T20 format, except for the final championship match that featured Demerara and Essequibo, with Demerara emerging victorious. So in many ways this is a rematch of the three counties that form the geographical landscape of the South American nation of Guyana.

This is the fourth one-day tournament of its kind in recent years in the New York metropolitan area, and sponsored by Insaf “Birdman” Ali. The teams are expected to play in color clothing, with Berbice taking on Essequibo at 9:00 am and the winner of that encounter facing Demerara at 1:00 pm on the same day. The experienced umpiring duo of Steve Kalloo and Jack Persaud will officiate.

The tournament’s organizing committee consists of: Insaf Ali, James Manbahal, Sewdat Shivnarain, Rudy Persaud, Krish Prasad, John Aaron and Qayaam Farrooq.

The participating teams are:-
Berbice Squad:
Karan Ganesh (Capt.), Sudesh Dhaniram, Kevin Darlington, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Gajanand Singh, Ryan Ghirdary, Alex Amsterdam, Vejai Seeenarine, Trinson Carmichael, Hemant Kumarlall, Kaleen Bux, and Trevis Ross.
Jameel J. Z. Mohammed (Manager), Bobby Rupram (Asst. Manager), Sew Shivnarain (Coach), and Linden Frasier ( Asst. Coach)

Demerara Squad:
Zaheer Saffie (Capt.), Qayaam Farrouq (Vice Capt.), Azim Khan, Kumar Nandalall, Troy Mars, Troy Dudnauth, Akeem Dodson, Andre Kirton, Brian Sattur, Joey Sadloo, Ramphall Backtowar, Kevin Nazeer, and Randall Wilson.
James Manbahal (Manager), Hafeez Ali (Asst. Manager), Johnny Sanasie (Coach), and Kirk Higgins (Asst. Coach).

Essequibo Squad:
Clain Williams, Andy Mohamed, Tamesh Balwant, Prashad Mahadeo, Rhett Ramoutar, Zaaid Majeed, Shiv Raghubar, Travis Rodney, Mark Gomes, Rocky Kowchai, Amarnauth Persaud, Deonauth Baksh, and Richard Ramdeen.
Ajaz Asgarally (Manager).

Anyone who would like to sponsor or contribute please contact Shiv at 347-279-4032 or Qayaam at 917-494-5013.