Australia fast bowler Mitchell Starc was today named as the player of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

Mitchell Starc took 22 wickets from eight games in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and captured the player of the tournament award. Photo: ICC

Starc was the unanimous choice of a select group of experts* following his sensational form that helped guide his side to its fifth title in 11 tournaments. The 25-year-old left-armer took 22 wickets at 10.18 runs per wicket with an economy rate of 3.50 runs per over. His best performance came against New Zealand in Auckland when he finished with six for 28.

During their deliberations, the members of the panel discussed several names, highlighting such players as New Zealand’s inspirational captain Brendon McCullum and his team-mates Trent Boult and Martin Guptill, as well as Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka for his four consecutive centuries.

*The selection panel that chose the player of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 consisted of:
Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket)
Andrew Alderson (Journalist, New Zealand Herald)
Harsha Bhogle (Broadcaster)
Richard Kettleborough (Member of Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and ICC Umpire of the Year 2014)
Chloe Saltau (Journalist, The Age)
Michael Vaughan (Former England captain and broadcaster)