Cricket Australia (CA) today announced the list of 18 players being offered CA contracts for 2014-15, as chosen by the National Selection Panel (NSP).

The year ahead includes Test matches against Pakistan, India, the West Indies and England while in the one-day international arena Australia’s focus will be on preparing for a successful  home summer, including the ICC Cricket World Cup campaign beginning in February 2015.

The contracts, which cover a 12-month period commencing 1 July 2014, have been awarded to the following players:

CA Contract List for 2014-2015
Name    Age
George Bailey    31
Michael Clarke    32
James Faulkner    23
Aaron Finch    27
Brad Haddin    36
Ryan Harris    34
Phillip Hughes    25
Mitchell Johnson    32
Nathan Lyon    26
Shaun Marsh    30
Glenn Maxwell    25
Chris Rogers    36
James Pattinson    23
Peter Siddle    29
Steve Smith    24
Mitchell Starc    24
David Warner    27
Shane Watson    32

Commenting on the contract list, National Selector John Inverarity said: “The National Selection Panel has today announced a Cricket Australia list of 18 players offered contracts for the 12-month period commencing 1 July 2014. The selection of these players was based both on their performances from July 2013, a period in which Australian teams have had some very significant successes, and the expectation that they will feature prominently in the Australian Test, ODI and T20I sides during the forthcoming period.

“All of the 18 players selected for 2014-15 contracts currently hold a CA playing contract with Chris Rogers, Steve Smith, Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh having received contract upgrades during the previous period.

“Each of these four players has shown at various times why they are deserving of a contract and we expect them to continue playing an important role for Australia in one or more of the three formats.

“Those who have not been awarded new contracts are Ed Cowan, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Clint McKay, Matthew Wade and four players who received upgrades last year, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Alex Doolan.

“Alex Doolan was close to receiving a contract and he is highly regarded by the NSP as the incumbent number three batsman in our Test line-up. He made his Australian debut less than two months ago and we look forward to him building strongly on the promising start he made in the three Test series in South Africa.

“Nathan Coulter-Nile also came close as he has had some impressive white-ball performances for Australia and was in the Test Squad for much of the Australian summer. The NSP would like to see Nathan continue to progress well and have another strong season in 2014-15,” Inverarity said.

The Memorandum of Understanding between CA and the Australian Cricketers’ Association enables the NSP to select between 17 and 20 players for the contract list.

Last year, 20 players were initially selected for the contracted players list, with an additional eight players upgraded to contracts during the season, having fulfilled the prerequisite of 12 upgrade points. Players receive five points per appearance in the playing XI of a Test, two for an ODI and one per T20 match.

In 2014-15, the minimum CA retainer is $250,000 while players still require 12 upgrade points to earn a CA contract. The value of an ‘upgrade contract’ will be $210,000 in 2014-15.

The state association contracting period now opens, with first round state contracts to be finalized by 17 April and second round contracts to be finalized by 22 April.