(FROM LEFT) Baldath Mahabir (Director WICB), Azim Bassarath Pres. TTCB, Mr. Michael Muirhead CEO WICB, Mr. Dwayne Elgin Designated CEO NAGICO, Mr. Paul Dijkhoffz Exe CEO NAGICO, Mr. Christopher Henriques General Manager NAGICO TT at the launching ceremony.

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad – The first NAGICO Super50 tournament was officially launched on Thursday, with WICB chief executive Michael Muirhead hailing the January 30th to February 15th event as a new approach to 50-over cricket in the region.

The launch, which took place at the at the Brian Lara Pavilion at the Queen’s Park Oval, was attended by Dwayne Elgin, the CEO of NAGICO, and Asim Bassarath, President of the Trinidad & Tobago Cricket Board.

Speaking in his feature address, Muirhead praised NAGICO’s involvement in the tournament while underscoring the value of the competition.

“NAGICO Insurances is a strong and respected brand with a presence in some 19 territories of which 11 are associated with West Indies cricket. What better partner could we ask for? They have truly demonstrated in a tangible way, their passion and love of the game by sponsoring this important event in the WICB calendar. The 2014 NAGICO Super50 will be crucial for the players as we look ahead to the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup – a tournament we believe our team can win, as well as successfully defend the ICC World T20 title which we currently hold,” Muirhead said.

“In this present economic climate when many companies are forced to cut back we applaud
NAGICO for their vision and commitment to West Indies cricket. Their decision to invest, not for one year but for three years, must not only be viewed in dollars and cents but also as part of their overall contribution to the development of the game in the region.”

Muirhead added: “Some of the future stars of West Indies and World cricket will be ‘born’ in the NAGICO Super50 tournament and years from now when they star on the world stage I’m sure we will look back and remember the moments when they got their exposure in the NAGICO Super50.”

The NAGICO Super50 bowls off on January 30 and will conclude with the final on February 15. Matches will be played at the historic Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain and picturesque Shaw Park in Tobago. All matches in Trinidad will be day/night fixtures while the two matches in Tobago will be day games.

Mr Elgin said his organisation was delighted to partner with WICB in the main 50-over event.

“It is our hope that with this sponsorship of West Indies cricket we will see a resurgence in West Indies cricket. We have been passionate supporters of West Indies cricket for a long time and we believe this partnership will help to lift the game,” Mr Elgin noted.

“Cricket is a way of life in the Caribbean and we believe it is necessary to contribute to the communities to help make them success. We hope out alignment with the WICB will be something big and will continue.”

Mr Bassarath said his organisation was ready to stage a “carnival of cricket” for the world to enjoy.

“For 2014, 2015 and 2016 Carnival will come early. The super excitement of the NAGICO Super 50 tournament is here,” Mr Bassarath said.

“The time is right to let the world know that Trinidad & Tobago is ‘ready’ for this is the most exciting event to hit town for a while. During this NAGICO Super50 T&T will be exposed to the world via ESPN…our investment in this event is sure to be a success.”

Zone A: Windward Islands, Jamaica, Guyana, Ireland
Zone B: Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados, Leeward Islands, Combined Campuses & Colleges
Thursday, 30th: Windwards vs Jamaica at Queen’s Park Oval
Friday, 31st: Guyana vs Ireland at Queen’s Park Oval
Saturday, 1st: Leewards vs CCC at Queen’s Park Oval
Sunday, 2nd: T&T vs Barbados at Queen’s Park Oval
Monday, 3rd: Jamaica vs Ireland at Queen’s Park Oval
Tuesday, 4: Guyana vs Windwards at Queen’s Park Oval
Wednesday, 5th: Leewards vs T&T at Shaw Park
Thursday, 6th: CCC vs Barbados at Shaw Park
Friday, 7th: Ireland vs Windwards at Queen’s Park Oval
Saturday, 8th: Guyana vs Jamaica at Queen’s Park Oval
Sunday, 9th: CCC vs T&T at Queen’s Park Oval
Monday, 10th: Barbados vs Leewards at Queen’s Park Oval
Wednesday, 12th: Semi-final 1 – Zone A winner vs Zone B second at Queen’s Park Oval
Thursday, 13th: Semi-final 2 – Zone B winner vs Zone A second at Queen’s Park Oval
Saturday 15th: FINAL – Winner of Semi-final 1 vs Winner of Semi-final 2 at Queen’s Park Oval