The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a 14-man squad for the Australian ODI VB Tour of India.

The 14-player squad is:
Michael Clarke (Captain) NSW
George Bailey (Vice-Captain) TAS
Nathan Coulter-Nile WA
Xavier Doherty TAS
James Faulkner TAS
Aaron Finch VIC
Brad Haddin NSW
Moises Henriques NSW
Phil Hughes SA
Mitchell Johnson WA
Glenn Maxwell VIC
Clint McKay VIC
Adam Voges WA
Shane Watson NSW

Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: “Australia’s ODI team can take a great deal of encouragement and confidence from its recent performances in Scotland and England.

“The India Tour Squad looks to take this momentum into the forthcoming series and they know they will face stiff opposition from a very talented group of Indian players.

“It was pleasing to see that Aaron Finch and Nathan Coulter-Nile looked comfortable at international level and Shaun Marsh displayed some good form in his return to ODI cricket. Unfortunately for Shaun, he sustained a hamstring injury at Cardiff on 14 September and could not be considered for selection.

“Matthew Wade has been omitted due to lack of form and has been replaced by Brad Haddin, who captured an Ashes series record of dismissals in July and August. Matthew is 25 years of age and has a great deal of natural ability both as a batsman and as a keeper. The NSP is confident that Matthew will regain form and press hard for selection in the not too distant future.

“There will be a reduced need for pace bowling on this tour so the NSP has reduced the squad from 15 to 14 players and Josh Hazlewood has been omitted. Moises Henriques has been included as a pace bowling all-rounder and will provide the required flexibility in the squad. Josh is progressing well and with the injuries to James Pattinson and Mitchell Starc we anticipate that he will come into contention for Ashes selection with impressive domestic performances.

“As previously alluded to, Xavier Doherty has been included in the squad, in place of Fawad Ahmed, as the NSP feels that he is well suited to ODIs in India. Fawad bowled well with his limited opportunities in the rain affected series and better than his figures would suggest. The NSP looks forward to Fawad getting plenty of bowling in the busy domestic schedule that begins at the end of this month.

“After a long tour Michael Clarke’s back condition has flared up again and he has been selected subject to fitness. He has returned to Australia for further assessment and the NSP hopes that it will improve in time for the Indian tour.”

Cricket Australia has also confirmed that Steve Rixon will be the Head Coach for the VB Tour to India.

Cricket Australia Executive General Manager Team Performance Pat Howard said: “As with the successful tour of the UAE last year we will have Steve Rixon acting as Head Coach in India.  Darren has been on the road and away from home for a considerable amount of time. This is a great opportunity for Darren to refresh, work with the States and provide others with opportunities.

“This tour is very significant for the Australian cricket team as we will have the opportunity to go to number one in the ICC ODI rankings. This is all important as we build towards the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.”

Australia will play one T20 match prior to the seven ODIs and the NSP reserves the right to select from Australian players already in India for the Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 to play in this T20 match.