Home News

Archive News
Ed Ahmad Cup

Nassau League
NY Softball

Nassau Cricket League 20/20 Finals
Challengers CC Routs United Sports Club In the A-Division 20/20 Final

Steve Massiah during his fifth century of the season. (Gallery)

A scintillating knock of 102 not out by Steve Massiah enables Challengers CC to rout United Sports Club in the Nassau Cricket League A-Division 20/20 Final Sunday September 30, 2007 at Baisley Oval.

Massiah shared a fourth wicket stand of 153 runs from 13 overs with David Mohamed (58 not out) and the pair helped Challengers to post a total of 203 in their 20 overs.

United Sports had a bad day in the field and both batsmen made good of the chances they were given.

Massiah’s century was his fifth of the 2007 cricket season. He led his team, Challengers CC, to two championships in the Nassau Cricket League in 2007 (Super-4 and 20/20 Champions in the A-Division).

Randy Baichan with figures of 4-0-20-2 was the pick of the United Sports Bowlers.

Dave Mohamed hit an unbeaten 58 and shared a 153 runs partnership with Steve Massiah. (Photos by Shiek Mohamed)

Needing 204 for victory was never going to be easy for United Sports Club. They did well to reach 146 all-out in 17 overs.

Ram Singh 26 runs, Randy Baichan 24 runs, Sunil Singh 19 runs, Glen Loric 18 runs, and Gavesh Arjune 11 runs were the main scorers for United Sports Club.

Bowling for Challengers CC; Bonner 1-0-5-2, Kumar 2-0-22-2, J. Lall 4-0-34-2 and Massiah, Shaku and Mickey finished with 1 wicket a piece.

Challengers CC won by 57 runs.

Challengers CC vs. United Sports
Challengers Inning
S. Massiah not out 102
G. Ramsingh c R. Baichan 8
P. Mahadeo c Sewdat 3
H. Hardeo c R. Baichan 13
D. Mohamed not out 58
Extras: 19
22 27 50
R. Baichan 4-0-20-2, Sewdat 4-0-43-1, S. Singh 4-0-35-0, G. Loric 4-0-37-0, Brian 2-0-32-0 , R. Singh 2-0-34-0

United Sports Inning
R. Singh run out 26
G. Arjune c Mickey 11
G. Loric c Lall 18
Sewdat stp Lall 8
R. Baichan b Shakur 24
S. Singh c Massiah 19
Brian b Kumar 6
P. Sankar c Kumar 0
D. Singh c Bonner 7
Mohabir c Bonner 2
D. Arjune not out 4
Extras: 21
Total: 146
FOW: 26 43 70 79 101 117 118 141 142 146
Bowling: M. Ramdeo 4-0-35-1, J. Lall 4-0-34-2, S. Massiah 2-0-18-1, Shakur 4-0-28-1, Kumar 2-0-22-2, Bonner 1-0-5-2

Hempstead Edged West Indian Alliance/Melbourne
In The B-Division Final

In a close and entertaining match, Hempstead edged West Indian Alliance/Melbourne in the Nassau Cricket League’s B-Division Final played Sunday September 30, 2007 at Baisley Oval.

West Indian Alliance/Melbourne, the league’s B- Division 2007 Super-4 Champions, was favored to win this match, but Hempstead was determined to prove the odds maker wrong.

Hempstead came into this game on an emotional high after defeating Gomes Youths and International Sports Club on the same day, one week ago, to get into the final.

Gerald Singh had a good day hitting 20 and taking 2 for 30. (Gallery)

On a glorious day for cricket, Hempstead won the toss and decided to bat first. They posted a total 133 for all-out in their allotted 20 overs.

Peter DaSilva led the scoring with 44, followed by Lawrence Persaud with 22, Gerald Singh with 20 and Andy Harricharran with 15.

Bowling for West Indian Alliance/Melbourne, Lalta Persaud took 4 wickets for 22 runs in 4 overs, Kawal Persaud 1 for 8 in 2 overs, Gay Broomes 1 for 16 in 4 overs and Allison Harewood 1 for 28 in 4 overs.

West Indian Alliance/Melbourne was in for a complete surprise when it was their turn to bat.

Peter DaSilva rocked the top order with a devastating spell of 4 overs, 3 madiens, 9 runs and 3 wickets (4-3-9-3).

In his first over, he had the prolific Lalta Persaud caught for a duck and in successive overs clean bowled Charles (5) and Javier (10).

DaSilva’s first over produce 3 wickets and no runs.

After DaSilva’s opening spell, many felt it was Hempstead match to lose, but West Indian Alliance/Melbourne ensured that victory would not come easy for Hempstead.

Leslie Entienne and Glyne Hurley began to repair the damage and made the Hempstead bowlers worked hard.

A brilliant piece of glove work by wicket-keeper Lawrence Persaud to stumped Leslie Entienne for 35 of the bowling of Gerald Singh in the 17th over was a wicket Hempstead desperately needed.

The West Indian Alliance/Melbourne inning came to a close at 125 for 9 in their allotted 20 overs.

Leslie Entienne topped scored with 35, Glyne Hurley 31 and Conrad Carbon 23 not out.
Hempstead won the match by 8 runs.

Nassau League B-Division 20/20 Final
Hempstead CC vs. West Indian Aliance/Melbourne

Hempstead Inning
Peter DaSilva c. L. Persaud 44
Lawrence Persaud c. A Harewood 22
Andy Harricharran c. L. Persaud 15
Tariq Javed c. G. Broomes 0
Johnny Lall lbw L. Persaud 1
Gobin Deosaran lbw L. Persaud 4
Gerald Singh b K. Persaud 20
Sawrat Ali b C. Carbon 4
John Ames run out 3
Lelyon Ramsaroop not out 0
Azad Khan run out 1
Extras: 19
Total: 133
FOW: 44 78 80 86 90 103 115 128 132 133
Bowling: A. Harewood 4-0-28-1, D. Hussey 3-0-36-0, G. Broomes 4-0-16-1, L. Persaud 4-0-22-4, G. Hurley 1-0-10-0, C. Carbon 2-0-10-1, K. Persaud 2-0-8-1

West Indian Alliance/Melbourne Inning
L. Persaud c P. DaSilva 0
E. Charles b P. DaSilva 5
T. Jarvier b P. DaSilva 10
L. Ettienne stmp G. Singh 35
A. Harewood c Tariq 2
G. Hurley c Leylon 31
C. Carbon not out 23
K. Persaud c G. Singh 1
J. Prosper run out 2
D. Hussey c Leylon 0
G. Broomes not out 1
Extras: 15
Total: 125
FOW: 0 12 19 35 90 99 107 109 118 125
Bowling: P. DaSilva 4-2-9-3, J. Lall 4-0-22-0, Tariq 4-1-22-1, G. Singh 4-0-30-2, Andy 1-0-9-0, Lelyon 2-0-22-2, Gobin 1-0-7-0

Summary of scores for games on 09-23-07
First Game: Hempstead Vs Gomes Youth @ Beach 32nd St.

Gomes Youth: 138 for 9 in 20 0vers
Ryan 36, Avenash 28, Ray 22
Bowling for Hempstead:
Gerald Singh 4 for 15, Peter Dasilva 2 for 18, Tariq Javed 2 for 23
Hempstead:140 for 7 in 19.4 overs
Gerald Singh 25, Andy Harricharran 22, Gobin & Tariq 17 each
Bowling for Gomes Youth:
Ray Mohan 2 for 19, Cameron 1 for 6, Kirkton 1 for 10
Hempstead won by 3 wickets

Second Game: Hempstead vs International Sports @ Beach 32nd St.
Hempstead: 201 for 4 in 20 overs

Andy Harricharran 65 not out, Peter Dasilva 58, Tariq Javed 22
Bowling for International:
Deni, Narian, & Shahidi, 1 wicket each
International: 101 all out in 16.2 0vers
Deni 24, Andrew 22, Shahidi 19
Bowling for Hempstead:
Jhonny Lall 4 for 21, Gerald Singh 2 for 24, Peter Dasilva 2 for 24
Hempstead won by 100 runs

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at simtan73@aol.com