Ed Ahmad Cup

NY Mayor's Cup
Nassau League
NY Softball
WI Softball
NYPD Cricket
School Cricket
Richmond Hill Wins Inaugural Orlando Cup

By Darshan Chickery
March 18, 2009

Richmond Hill Sports Club beat FSCA I (Orlando) by eighty five runs to take home the inaugural Orlando Cup last Sunday at Airport Road Park in Orlando, FL.

The victorious Richmond Hill Sports Club with supporters and awards.

The Orlando Cup 2009 was played over a two day period last weekend (March 14th and 15th) in Orlando, FL between five teams: FSCA I (Orlando) and FSCA II (Orlando), SFSCA (South Florida), Avengers (NY) and Richmond Hill (NY).

At the end of the preliminary round of play between the five teams, FSCA I and Richmond Hill emerged atop of the points table of the round robin format, hence with the opportunity of winning the 20/20 competition.

After a brief strategy session by both teams, the coin toss was won by Richmond Hill. A feat their captain, Kumar Chickery managed to achieve successfully throughout the competition – a total of five times. Richmond Hill decided to bat first.

Prasana Malipal and Ahmad Shazaman (Zaman) opened the batting and gave their team a solid opening partnership of 38 in five overs before Zaman was caught on the long off boundary for 15. Malipal followed in the next over when he attempted a reverse sweep shot. He made 14.

Kumar Chickery collects the winning trophy from Tom Bacchus. (Below) Zaman receiving the series MVP trophy from Tom Bacchus.

Latchman Mohan (Junior) joined Clifflee Velaidum at the wicket and together they added 23 for the third wicket. Velaidum was the aggressor and it showed when he was out for 17. Andy Siewraj joined Junior. They put on 29 for the fourth wicket before Andy played a lazy pull shot off a short ball and was dismissed for 12.

Khemraj Narine (Buns) came to the wicket and wasted no time. He batted as though he was late for a flight. He made a quick twenty five that contained three sixes. Ravi Lutchman joined Junior who was solid a as rock throughout his inning of 25 with two sixes. When Junior was out, the score was 151 for 6 at the end of the 19th over. Richmond Hill had set a target score of 140 in their strategy session. Lutchman was apparently not satisfied, as he took 21 runs from the last over. His pugnacious knock of 34 not out included three sixes and two fours.

Richmond Hill made 172 for 6 off their allotted 20 overs. Rakesh Mahase and Moti Singh took 2 for 22 and 2 for 47 respectively.

FSCA I (Orlando) was off to a decent start of 20 in three overs before loosing two quick wickets to be restricted to 27 for 2 in the 5th over. Daniel Sadeo and Sham Verasammy took the score to 66 before Verasammy was caught off the bowling of Ahmed Shazaman (Zaman) for 10. Prior to that dismissal, FSCA I was well place at 60 for 2 at the end of the 7th over.

Zaman would struck again and often in his spell of three overs. He destroyed the Orlando batting with 6 for 13. Orlando was bundled out for 87. Additional bowling support came from V. Samaroo (Deo) 1 for 13, Moe Khan 1 for 15 and Ravi Lutchman 1 for 14. Daniel Sadeo top scored with 23. Richmond Hill’s, Ahmad Shazaman had the distinct honor of carting off the series MVP honors and Man of the Match award in the finals.

This was Richmond Hill Sports Club’s first trip outside of New York since its establishment one year ago. The traveling team comprised of the following players: Kumar Chickery (captain), Darshan Chickery, Krishna Chickery, Moe Khan, Ravi Lutchman, Prasana Malipal, Latchman Mohan, Khemraj Narine, V. Samaroo, Ahmad Shazaman, Andy Siewraj, Clifflee Valaidum and Gibran Wahab.

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at admin@newyorkcricket.com