Archive News
Ed Ahmad Cup

Nassau League
NY Softball
Mayor's Cup

Gayle Named Captain Of Stanford Superstars, Joseph Vice Captain

Oct. 14th, 2008
Chris Gayle will create history as the first captain of the Stanford Superstars team when he walks out to toss with England captain Kevin Pietersen for the unprecedented US$20 million clash on 1st November.

The Sir Vivian Richards led Stanford Superstars Selection Panel selected the Jamaican captain and opening batsman as leader of the Stanford Superstars for the duration of the Stanford Super Series starting on October 25th when the Stanford Superstars take on Trinidad and Tobago, the reigning Stanford 20/20 champions.

The left handed opening batsman will have Antigua and Barbuda captain Sylvester Joseph as his deputy.

“Our selection panel gave much thought to this selection and deliberated extensively and there was consensus that Chris is the man for the job, he’s an experienced international cricketer, possesses a cool head and is the best man for the job in this all important match,” Sir Vivian said.

“Additionally the selection of Joseph who has been touted as one of the better leaders in the region pays compliments to Chris’s leadership and it is also good to have a new and refreshing face in the deputy position,” Sir Vivian, the former West Indies captain said.

Chris Gayle

In addition to his five international Twenty20 appearances, the 29 year old Gayle has featured in 73 Test matches, 186 One Day Internationals, 147 First Class matches, 242 List A matches and 13 Twenty20 matches overall.
The 30 year old Joseph has played two Twenty20 matches, 5 Tests, 13 ODIs, 87 First Class matches and 88 List A games.

The Stanford Superstars 17 man squad remains unchanged and is continuing preparations in Antigua leading into the Stanford Super Series.

Stanford Superstars squad: Chris Gayle (captain), Sylvester Joseph (vice captain), Lionel Baker, Sulieman Benn, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Lennox Cush, Travis Dowlin, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chad Hampson, Lindon James (wicketkeeper), Dave Mohammed, Kieron Pollard, Daren Powell, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor.

Stanford Superstars Selection Panel: Sir Viv Richards (chairman), Sir Everton Weekes, Courtney Walsh, Richie Richardson, Andy Roberts, Lance Gibbs, Curtly Ambrose.


Saturday October 25th – Stanford Superstar v Trinidad & Tobago
Sunday October 26th – England v Middlesex
Monday October 27th – Trinidad & Tobago v Middlesex
Tuesday October 28th – England v Trinidad & Tobago
Thursday October 30th – Stanford Superstars v Middlesex
Saturday November 1st – Stanford 20/20 For 20million – Stanford Superstars v England

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at