Archive News
Ed Ahmad Cup

Nassau League
NY Softball
Mayor's Cup

Americas Cricket Championship Set For Florida USA
Bermuda to defend title in fifth Pepsi ICC Development Program Americas regional championship in Fort Lauderdale

Nov. 13th, 2008

The 5th ICC Americas Division 1 Championship will get underway in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA on Tuesday 25 November, with Bermuda intent on retaining the title they won for the first time in Toronto, Canada in 2006.

In total six Americas region nations will be taking part, with hosts USA, Canada, Cayman Islands, Argentina and Suriname joining Bermuda in the bi-annual competition. Previous winners include Canada (2000 and 2004) and the USA (2002).

Playing in the top tier of senior regional competition for the very first time will be Suriname, the only Affiliate nation in the group, who earned the right to join the regions Associates by virtue of winning the regional Division 2 tournament earlier in the year.

For Argentina and the Cayman Islands, not only will they both be looking for their first regional championship title, but this event will also provide a pointer towards where their respective preparations are ahead of the World Cricket League Division 3 tournament, to take place in January 2009.

Favorites to claim the title of Americas region champions must be Bermuda and Canada, both ODI nations, and having had a busy and productive year of international competition, but hosts USA cannot be written off by any stretch of the imagination, regardless of the disappointment of not progressing out of World Cricket League Division 5 earlier in the year.

The USA retain their enormous potential to be a cricket powerhouse, and their showing in the 2006 Americas tournament showed that on any given day they can beat any other regional side. They, along with Canada, will arrive at the tournament fresh from taking on West Indies domestic competition in the Caribbean, and both sides will no doubt benefit from day one.

The Cayman Islands showed in Toronto two years ago just what they are capable of, pulling off an upset win over regional giants Canada, while Argentina’s recent World Cricket League successes mean both these sides must not be underestimated. For minnows Suriname this will be a trip into the unknown, and will most likely be very much an exercise in learning, but their tigerish attitude on the field will be no different this time around.

Tuesday 25 November
Argentina v Canada
Bermuda v Cayman Islands
USA v Suriname

Wednesday 26 November
Bermuda v Suriname
Canada v Cayman Islands
USA v Argentina

Thursday 27 November
Argentina v Cayman Islands
Canada v Suriname
USA v Bermuda

Friday 28 November
Rest/Reserve day

Saturday 29 November
Argentina v Bermuda
Cayman Islands v Suriname
USA v Canada

Sunday 30 November
Argentina v Suriname
Bermuda v Canada
USA v Cayman Islands

Esteban MacDermott (capt), Agustin Casime, Diego Lord, Martin Siri, Alejandro Ferguson, Tomas Francis, Donald Forrester, Esteban Nino, Gary Savage, David Mauro, Hamish Barton, Pablo Ryan, Lucas Paterlini and Pablo Ferguson.

BERMUDA: (from) Irving Romaine (capt), Rodney Trott, Stephen Outerbridge, Jekon Edness, Stefan Kelly, Joslyn Pitcher, Russell Leverock, Glenn Smith-Blakeney, Lionel Cann, Kevin Hurdle, Tamauri Tucker, David Hemp, Delyone Borden, Oronde Bascome, Christopher Douglas, Kyle Hodsoll and Jordan DeSilva.

CANADA: Sunil Dhaniram (capt), Abdool Samad, Eion Katchay, Henry Osinde, Umar Bhatti, Harvir Singh Baidwan, Zubin Surkari, Sandeep Jyoti, Mulla Asif, Jason Sandher, Balaji Dorakanti, Mohammed Iqbal, Karun Jethi and Qaiser Ali.

CAYMAN ISLANDS: Pearson Best (capt), Steve Gordon, Ryan Bovell, Michael Wight, Troy Taylor, Ainsley Hall, Kevin Bazil, Kevon Bazil, Marlon Bryan, Kervin Ebanks, Alessandro Morris, Ricardo Roach, Ramon Sealy and Omar Willis.

SURINAME: (from) Sanjay Meghoe (capt), Shazam Ramjohn, Deoraj Sewanan, Vishal Singh, Carlton Baker, Arun Gokoel, Tariq Islam, Ranjiet Terbhawan, Brahma Prasad, Kemraj Hardat, Kevin Baker, Vidanand Jaipaul, Sanjay Oemraw, Mahendra Boodram, Troy Dudnauth, Shelton Duditana and Firos Hoseinbaks.

USA squad unavailable.

Please note above squad information subject to confirmation and change.

For further information, please contact:
Grant Dugmore grantdugmore @
Martin Vieira manager @

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at