Archive News
Ed Ahmad Cup

Nassau League
NY Softball
Mayor's Cup

West Indian Softball Association
Cornered Tigers Are Premier Elite 20/20 Champs

By Darshan Chickery
October 16, 2008
Cornered Tigers Cricket Club beat Dynasty Cricket Club by 14 runs to claim the West Indian Softball Association’s Premier Elite 20/20 championship last Sunday at Charles Drew Park.

Cornered Tigers batted first and were off to a flying start of 23 without loss at the end of the second over. That progress was curtailed when Asif Ally lost his wicket in the third over. Dynasty applied pressure and Tigers lost another four wickets for twelve runs to be restricted to 39 for five in the ninth over.

At the break (end of ten overs), Cornered Tigers were 46 for 5. M. Khan and F. Samad batted cautiously after the break and implemented the perceived plan of not losing additional wickets while keeping the scoreboard ticking. They were 70 for 5 after fifteen overs.

Cornerd Tigers cricket team.

Needing to pick up the scoring rate, the Tigers’ batsmen did just that. They scored 50 runs in the last five overs to post a respectable score of 120 all out. Javed Ali top scored with 28. Supporting knocks came from F. Samad (23) and P. Mahadeo (18). Dynasty’s Ricky Narine took 3 for 20 while Moe Khan grabbed 3 for 34.

Dynasty replied with 106 for 7 off their allotted 20 overs. They batted cautiously and as a result, were always behind the required run rate of six per over. They were 40 for 2 after ten overs, 72 for 4 after 15 overs and 80 for 6 after 17 overs.

Needing more than 13 runs per over to take the game away from Cornered Tigers, Dynasty gave it a game effort with its lower order batsmen. They took 10 runs off the 18th over but managed only 6 off the 19th. The game was all but over at that point. Dynasty got to 106 for seven when the allotted 20 overs ran out.

Tigers’ Javed Ali and V. Singh captured two wickets apiece for twenty two runs each. D. Singh, S. Persaud & S. Kayume all supported with one wicket apiece.

It should be noted that Dynasty has filed a protest against Cornered Tigers alleging that they played unqualified player(s). The decision from the hearing was not available before press time.

Hurricanes, DFI, Primetime, Queens United & Young Guns II all Champions
20/20 Championship Round-up
Hurricanes beat Patriots in the Premier division to claim their second championship in 2008. Scores were not available for this game.

DFI wallop Scramblers by seventy-nine runs to take the Division I 20/20 title. DFI batted first and made 166 for 5 in its 20 overs. A. Khan pummeled scramblers’ bowlers for a top score of 77 not out. He was supported by N. Persaud (37) and T. Bacchus (24).

Scramblers replied with 87 all out. A. Narine and D. Persaud grabbed three wickets apiece while M. Nazeer picked up two.

Primetime made a statement of their own when they defeated Braves by three wickets and three overs to spare to take the Division II 20/20 crown. They proved that their unbeaten streak in the 20/20 was no fluke.

Braves batted first and made 109 for 9. Ravo top scored with 29 not out while his brother Ravin made 22. Suraj also contributed with 24. S. Seecharran and R. Gopaul took 3 for 11 and 3 for 23 respectively. Primetime replied with 110 for 7. V. Baichu top scored with 31. He was supported by, K. Pertab and R. Khemna with 19 and 17 respectively.

Queens United beat Sanders XI to capture the Division III title. No scores were available at press time.

In a low scoring affair, Young Guns II beat Legends by six wickets to take the Division VI title. Legends batted first and were bowled out for 58. P. Gobinraj took an amazing five wickets for six runs. W. Newland and P. Rambair supported Gobinraj with 3 for 14 and 2 for 2 respectively. Young Guns II replied with 62 for 4. Extras top scored with a whopping 27.

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at