Ed Ahmad Cup

NY Mayor's Cup
Nassau League
NY Softball
WI Softball
NYPD Cricket
School Cricket

Bobby NYSCL 2008 Cricketer of the Year

By James Persaud

Dec. 24th, 2008
The curtain came down on the New York Softball Cricket League 2008 season on Dec. 13th, with a full house at the magnificent Mangoville Catering Hall. There is plenty to be thankful for in the 2008 season. It has been a season where many goals were accomplished, and still work to be done. Congratulatations go out to all the winners and especially Bobby Pahalad for winning the NYSCL cricketer of the year award for the second year in a row. A special mention was made to the Young Brothers cricket club who was the only team to win two of the three major competitions in the season.

Bobby Pahalad was named New York Softball Cricket Association 2008 Cricket of the Year.

There were many winners in various divisions but the category that is looked forward to more is the cricketer of the year and Bobby had very little challenge this year, last year when he won, the challenge was for him to do a repeat and he lived up to the challenge to show that the first time was no fluke.

The NYSCL once again has led the way for softball cricket in the New York area. The other big winners were in the Series Most Valuable player award in all four divisions for all three competitions. In division II Narotam Tiwari captured two and also collected the division II 2008 Season Most Valuable Player award. The other series most valuable awards went out to Donald Basdeo, Leonard Vasquez, Premnauth Mohan, Rohit Kowlessar, Rishi Baldeo, Ravin Ivan, Raymond Williams and Boodram Deopaul. Bhola Pahalad was presented with a special award for his record setting bowling performance of taking 9 wickets for 15 runs in the 30 Over Cup competition.

Master of Ceremony for the evening Mr. Wycliffe McAllister spoke about the last three years he has been with the league and the progress he saw the league has made, he said that he felt very privileged to be part of it and will continue to help where ever he is needed.

The league President Mr. Eric Ferrier spoke about the challenges the league had faced three years ago, this he said was impossible to be fixed by himself. He thanked all the members who have stayed loyal to the league and the various committee members who have worked tirelessly in getting things done in a timely manner. He said this year it is very hard to decide on the one person to give the President’s Appreciation award and he has decided to make it two people for the 2008 season. He then presented plaques to Mr. Juwala Singh and Mr. Suresh Ramsaran these are the two people who he felt have done outstanding work for many years in the league.

On a night when almost two hundred trophies, medals and plaques were given out, other entertainments were added as an interlude and this was provided by two very tantalizing dances by the QC Qayamat dance troupe. Mr. JP Singh in his closing remarks thanked everyone who has helped the league throughout the season and especially the sponsors and umpires who has done a fine job in making the 2008 season a great success. The awards ceremony lasted to almost midnight and immediately after it was time for the dance floor to be opened with music provided by Kevin and Back to Basics.

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at admin@newyorkcricket.com