Home News

Battle Of The Border Sunrise Host Melbourne

Sunrise Cricket Club will play host to Melbourne Cricket Club of Toronto Canada on Saturday September 2, 2006 at Kissena Park.

Melbourne CC lead by Don Denhart will be looking to make to it two consecutive victories over host Sunrise this weekend.

During the same time last year, Melbourne CC defeated Sunrise handsomely at Flushing Park. This time, Team Sunrise will rely on the experience of Ashook Raganandan and Derrick Kallicharran to neutralize a much stronger Melbourne line up.

Since 2004, team Sunrise winning 3 out of the 4 encounters with 2 victories in Brampton Canada and 1 at home. Melbourne CC coming off of a winning season at home will be looking to continue their winning streak.

On September 3 of 2005, team Melbourne batting first scored 287 for 5 from 35 overs. Hard hitting Desantos scored 99, which included 11 fours and 5 sixes. He was well supported by New York native, Nandalall 93.

Sunrise feeling the effects of Melbourne’s runs spree, fell short by 75 runs. Only Marlon Kallicharran 91 runs, troubled Melbourne bowlers.

Sunrise President Sunil Ballie, speaking at a pregame press conference, said “he and his boys will no doubt put up a better fight this time around.”

Ballie echoed a sense of disappointment when Team Sunrise could not travel to Toronto earlier this season for their annual Canada New York match up in Brampton. He however stated that team Sunrise will be firing on all cylinders on Saturday.

Both teams are primed and ready to do battle on the field. However, the weather may have the final say in this match up. According to the local forecasters, the Queens New York area can expect a chance of thunder with likely heavy rain. Temperature is expected to reach a high 69F and low 62F. Winds E at 20 to 25 mph.

Regardless of the weather, team Sunrise, as always, will be gracious host.
Welcome to Queens New York to Don and his Canadian team.

Team Sunrise will be spearheaded by Sunil Ballie and will include among other, Ashook Raganandan, Mahendra Kanhai, Vijay Persaud, Derrick Kallicharran, Mark Gomes, Mark A. Gomes, Josh Harbajan, Dave Harbajan, Hemnarine Harrinarine, Marlon Kallicharran and Ramjit Singh.

Melbourne CC: F.Desantos, R. Kumar, N. Allie,T.Ballman, D. Denhard, R. Singh, Nandalall, G. Persaud, Y. Ali, A. Ballman, A. Gonzalez.

This Site is Maitained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at simtan73@aol.com