Home News

Nassau Cricket League Super-Four Semi-Finals
Vikings Escaped United Sports Jaws With 1 Wicket In Hand

Brilliant cricket by United Sports and Vikings Cricket on Sunday September 10th at Bay Park saw Vikings advanced to the A division finals. In a nail biting finish, Vikings hero Danny Bahadur 44 not out, lifted team Vikings from a certain defeat to a huge celebration.
Scores: United Sports 159 for 10 from 37 overs.
Vikings Cricket 160 for 9 from 39.4 overs.

United Sports skipper Ram Singh, winning the toss and opted to bat first. Subas Sankar was the first to go caught by Alin Mahesh off the bowling of Ramesh Nandkumar with 27 runs on the board. In from E. Sahadeo joined Zaman Rasheed, the pair added 27 runs to United total before Sahadeo was bowled by Nandkumar for 17. Team Vikings then made it difficult for United Sports batsmen score as they did the last time the two teams met.

Team United reaching 50 from 15 overs and 100 runs from 24 overs. In the process, Mark A. Gomes spun the lights out of United Sports batsmen. Gomes ended United Sports innings with figures of 7 overs 25 runs 6 wickets. Zaman Rasheed was the only United batsman to score freely before he was brilliantly stumped by Vishal Nagamootoo for a well played 70 runs (2x4, 3x6) off of Gomes. Glen Lorick was the other United batsman to reached double figures (22 not out).

United Sports wickets fell at 27, 54, 105, 110, 117, 117, 136, 146, 153 and 159.
Complementing Gomes in the bowling department were Ramesh Nandkumar 2 for 19 while Nagamootoo and M.Gomes 1 wicket each.

In reply, Vikings reeling at 44 for 5 from 15 overs, lost the two Gomes, Kanhai, Nagamootoo, and Vijay Bashkar. Team Vikings was set back early with some silly running between the wickets, M.A.Gomes and Nagamootoo being the two early victims out via run out. Captain Harrinarine. Ramesh joined Nandkumar and added another 33 runs to the total before Harrinarine lofted an easy catch to Lorrick on the extra cover boundry off the bowling of Randy Bachan.

Vikings player of the day, Danny Bahadur, not scoring much since his first game century against International Sports in the first match of the season joined Nandkumar and added 18 runs to Vikings scorecard before Nandkumar was stumped off the bowling of Bachan for 27.

Precarious placed at 95 for 7 from 29 overs, runs starved Vijay Persaud joined Bahadur and added an invaluable 53 runs for the 8 wicket before Persaud was run out for 15 with the score at 148. Vikings then lost Robert Mahesh without added to their total before Bahadur and Alin Mahesh hit off the winning runs. Danny Bahadur 44 not out and Alin Mahesh 2 not out.

An elated team Vikings charged onto the field and hoisted Bahadur into the air in celeberation.

Vikings wickets fell at: 17, 21, 23, 25, 44, 77, 95, 148 and 148.
Bowling for United Sports, Randy Bachan 3 for 24, Sewdat 2 for 20 and Sahadeo 1 for 24.

Vikings President, Mr. Bhola Ramsundar speaking after the game, said “I am extremely happy for everyone involved, and commended the entire team for not giving up when we were down.” In addition, he reminded the team that although we are in the finals, we should not take it granted. Vikings President told his team that if we play with the same effort as we did against United we can certainly hand Rockaway their first loss of the season on Sunday.

This Sunday, all roads lead to Ray Wilkins Park, finalist Rockaway CC and Vikings will via for Nassau League Super Four A-Division trophy. During the regular season, Rockaway CC led by Hafeez Ali, will be looking to go undefeated this season, while Vikings will be firing on all cylinders and in the process make amend to the two earlier defeats at the hand of Ali and company.

Game time 11:30 AM
In the other A-Division semi finals, Rockaway CC defeated New York Eagle. Socres were not available at press time.

B – Division semi finals
Floyd Bennett, Brooklyn NY: International Sports batting first against Hempstead Cricket, scored 187 all out in 40 overs. Contributions came from Multana 46, Parasram 26 and N. Persaud 24.
Bowling for Hempstead, A. Harricharran 3 for 11, Ramsaroop, Peter DeSilva and G.Singh 1 wicket each.
In reply, Hempstead paced themselves to 189 for 6 in 35 overs. K. Ramsaroop 35 not out, Gobin 32 and A. Harricharran 28 not out. Wicket takers for International were Ian 4 for 26 and Multana 2 for 23.
The other semi-final saw new comers Punjab Tigers defeated West Demerara. Scores were not available at press time.

This Site is Maitained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at simtan73@aol.com